You’re a model, baby!

Yesterday sister was kind enough to pick up this little beauty from a local Goodwill, and what a find it is. Apparently, Ford Models teamed up with Randomhouse sometime during the mid-nineties, and the illegitimate offspring of this union was the “Supermodels of the World” series.

scan01441

While I haven’t had a chance to sit down and read this one yet, it’s clear that “The New Me” is going to be a literary experience that I won’t soon forget. I’ve flipped through it, and so far, what I’ve seen is pretty overwhelming. What’s not to like? It’s got models, New York, and something called an “iced choco-cappuccino” which I know to be physically impossible to produce (speaking as a seasoned barista).

See how awesome this book is? The laws of coffee physics magically bend to its will!

I just HAD to scan the back, where we get a glimpse of the lead character, Paige’s, impressive modeling application.

scan0145

Fierce, no? I’m sure that, in real-life, modeling agencies care more about their models’ hometowns than, for example, their measurements or BMI or something.

Oh, and here’s the super-awesome blurb on the back cover (with CAPITALS left intact):

FORD, the world’s numer one model agency, is always on the lookout for the next SUPERMODEL OF THE WORLD ™.

This year, six young girls have been invited to come to New York to face the challenge of an exciting career in modeling.

Join Paige, Cassandra, Naira, Kerri, Pia, and Katerina on their glamorous rise to the top!

(That’s what she said.)

Shy Paige Sanders is stunned when she finds out that her grandmother sent her photo to Ford Models–and now Ford wants to try her out as a model in New York! Does Paige have what it takes to become a Supermodel?

Good question.

And, to add to the awesomeness, the book even has an index titled, “Words Every Model Should Know,” containing words like (I freaking kid you  not), “book,” “location, and “option.” Seriously.

I half-expected the entry for book to be, “what you are holding right now,” or something to that effect.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Mini-Reviews, Model Fetish, Other books, Personal Crap, Stereotypes
9 comments on “You’re a model, baby!
  1. Sadako says:

    Oh man, this looks awesomely bad. I can’t wait to see what you make of it.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I have no words, but I sincerely hope that this is not true for you, once you read this dreck.

  3. Abby says:

    I’m ashamed and sad to admit I read all six of those books in the 6th grade, and even my 11 year old friends made fun of me for it. That book made me want to to be a model. What can I say, Ford Supermodels was a big presence back in 1993.

  4. R. G. Quimby says:

    @ Abby — No need to be embarrassed! The only reason I didn’t become totally obsessed with these books is because my older sister refused to lend them to me! Otherwise, I’m pretty sure I would have been rocking a burgundy velvet blouse and hawt black choker 🙂

    Oh, and trying to become a pretty ginger girl, which I’m pretty sure is not possible :/

  5. Shannon says:

    Oooh, I can’t wait for a recap. This should be fun!

  6. Jenn says:

    Am I the only one who thinks that girl looks wicked familiar? She probably acted in some bad Lifetime movies or something 🙂

  7. […] a few weeks ago. If you’d like to read the glorious prose of the back-cover blurb, check it out HERE. Basically, though, this book is about a stereotypical Nebraska girl named Paige who is discovered […]

  8. Aileen says:

    I have a confession to make. I not only read The New Me but five other books in that short-lived series. I know all bout Paige, Cassandra, Naira, Kerri, Katarina and Pia.

  9. […] a few weeks ago. If you’d like to read the glorious prose of the back-cover blurb, check it out HERE. Basically, though, this book is about a stereotypical Nebraska girl named Paige who is discovered […]

Leave a Reply

